Method
How we compare
Transparency about our stores, prices, calculation rules and judgments — so you can check our numbers yourself.
Content updated:
Which stores we follow — and why
Our comparison covers the U.S. stores that carry the HP 218 series or its printers: the manufacturer, office-supply chains, electronics retailers, marketplaces and toner specialists. It is deliberately a defined set: stores whose exact product page, delivery and return terms we know, rather than a long list of untraceable sellers.
One rule decides who is in, and it is not the commercial one: a store is included when it is useful to someone buying HP 218 toner. Whether we could earn from a click is a separate field that never decides inclusion, order or emphasis.
| Store | Type | Assortment | Shipping | Do we earn here? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| HP Storehp.com/us-en/shop | Manufacturer store | The manufacturer itself: all eight HP 218 cartridges and the HP Color LaserJet Pro 3201/3301 printers. | Free shipping stated Ink and toner pages showed "FREE Priority Shipping on Ink and Toner"; printer pages showed "FREE Storewide Shipping". Store's shipping information · checked September 23, 2026 | No — not active, ordinary link HP Store affiliate programme |
| Staplesstaples.com | Retailer | All eight original HP 218 cartridges, an HP 218A four-pack, Staples-brand remanufactured 218X cartridges and the 3201dw/3301 printers. | Free shipping stated Ink and toner listings state "Free shipping, no minimum on all ink & toner" and showed "Delivered FREE"; printer listings showed "Delivered FREE". Store's shipping information · checked September 23, 2026 | No — ordinary link |
| Best Buybestbuy.com | Marketplace platform | HP 218 cartridges and HP 218 printers. Most 218 cartridge listings are Best Buy Marketplace offers sold and shipped by Staples, Inc.; W2180A and the 3201dw/3301sdw printers were sold by Best Buy itself. | Depends on order or seller Marketplace listings showed "FREE shipping"; listings sold by Best Buy showed a delivery date without a shipping amount, so shipping stays unverified for those. | No — ordinary link |
| Walmartwalmart.com | Marketplace platform | Original HP 218 listings are Walmart Marketplace offers from third-party sellers (Staples, Toner Planet, HP for printers); many third-party compatible cartridges. | Depends on order or seller Shipping is set per listing; several marketplace listings showed $0.00 shipping. | No — ordinary link |
| Neweggnewegg.com | Marketplace platform | HP 218 cartridges from Newegg Marketplace sellers (State Toner, the Official HP Store on Newegg) and compatible brands such as True Color Toner. | Depends on order or seller Shipping is set per seller: the Official HP Store listing for W2180X showed $2.99; other listings did not show a shipping amount for the default seller. | No — ordinary link |
| Quillquill.com | Retailer | Business supplier (a Staples company): all eight original HP 218 cartridges, an HP 218A four-pack and a Quill-brand remanufactured 218X black cartridge. | Free shipping stated The checked listings showed "Free delivery". Store's shipping information · checked September 23, 2026 | No — ordinary link |
| Toner Buzztonerbuzz.com | Toner specialist | U.S. toner specialist selling all eight original HP 218 cartridges and HP 218A/218X four-color sets. | Free shipping stated The listing showed "fast & free shipping"; Toner Buzz ships within the United States only. Store's shipping information · checked September 23, 2026 | No — ordinary link |
| CompAndSavecompandsave.com | Toner specialist | House-brand replacement cartridges for all eight HP 218 codes plus 218A and 218X four-color combos. | Depends on order or seller "Free shipping over $50" on each listing; every HP 218 replacement single and combo checked costs more than $50. Store's shipping information · checked September 23, 2026 | No — ordinary link |
| Swift Inkswiftink.com | Toner specialist | Compatible 218X cartridges with chip in all four colors and a 218X set of four. | Depends on order or seller "Free shipping over $50*" on each listing; the checked 218X items cost more than $50. Store's shipping information · checked September 23, 2026 | No — ordinary link |
| True Color Tonertruecolortoner.com | Toner specialist | U.S.-based compatible maker (Fargo, ND): 218A and 218X cartridges with chip, four-packs and a 218X CMY three-pack. | Unknown — depends on order or seller The store's shipping policy page did not state a free-shipping threshold when checked. Store's shipping information · checked September 23, 2026 | No — ordinary link |
| Amazon.comamazon.com | Marketplace platform | HP's own HP 218 listings (by ASIN) and many third-party compatibles. Shown as a link only: no Amazon price is published without an approved Product Advertising API feed. | Unknown — depends on order or seller Amazon prices, sellers and shipping are not read or shown here. | Yes — affiliate link active Amazon Associates |
| Costcocostco.com | Retailer | Sells the HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP 3301cdw (a club-channel model). Membership required. | Free shipping stated Costco states that standard shipping is included in the quoted price for this item. Store's shipping information · checked September 23, 2026 | No — ordinary link |
| B&H Photobhphotovideo.com | Retailer | Lists all eight original HP 218 cartridges. | Unknown — depends on order or seller B&H blocked automated verification (bot check / HTTP 403) on 2026-09-23, so no price or shipping is shown. | No — ordinary link |
| Office Depot OfficeMaxofficedepot.com | Retailer | Lists the HP 218A cartridges (exact product pages identified by Office Depot's own page titles). | Unknown — depends on order or seller officedepot.com refused access from our checking location ("not available in your country") on 2026-09-23; no price is shown. | No — ordinary link |
| CDWcdw.com | Retailer | Business reseller listing original HP 218 cartridges (exact product pages identified by CDW's own titles). | Unknown — depends on order or seller cdw.com timed out for our checks on 2026-09-23; no price is shown. | No — ordinary link |
A store only appears once we recorded at least one exact product page for an HP 218 cartridge or printer. This build holds 107 checked prices and 32 exact listings without a checked price; those appear below the price tables as "see current price" — never with an invented number.
How we collect prices
Every price is a manual retailer check: we open the exact product page at the store and record the product price, the listed regular price if shown, shipping as shown, the delivery estimate, stock status, the seller and fulfiller on marketplaces, rating counts where shown, the exact product URL and the date. Where an approved affiliate product feed becomes available, a build script may refresh the same fields; a feed row without an exact product URL is discarded.
We do not scrape. For Amazon that means: without an approved Product Advertising API we show no number at Amazon, only an exact link to the current price. Some stores (B&H, Office Depot, CDW) block automated checking or showed no price, and Costco shows printer prices to members only — they appear as exact links without a number. We would rather show no price than one whose origin we cannot defend.
Every price is therefore a snapshot with a date. The most recent check in this build is from September 23, 2026. Dates use U.S. Eastern time.
How fresh a price is
- Today / yesterday — up to 1 day old. Only then do we call prices "current".
- Recently checked — up to 3 days old.
- Last checked — up to 7 days old; the amount still shows, with the date prominently next to it.
- Expired — older than 14 days. The amount disappears automatically and only the store link remains.
That expiry is in the code, not a manual habit: a price that is not refreshed disappears by itself. Delivery estimates and stock expire faster — we show them for 2 days only; after that the row says "see current delivery at the store" and makes no stock claim.
Shipping and sales tax
All prices are before sales tax, which depends on your state and delivery address. Where we know the shipping charge — because the listing or a stated policy covering that price showed it — we show it separately and as a subtotal before tax, and rank by that subtotal. Where a listing shows no shipping amount we write "shipping not shown" — never $0.00, which would make the store look cheaper than it is.
As soon as one offer in a comparison has unknown shipping, we rank by product price and say so explicitly.
What "lowest price" means here
- "Lowest checked subtotal (before tax)" — every store shown has known shipping, so the subtotal is truly comparable.
- "Lowest checked product price" — at least one shipping charge is unknown; we compare prices excluding shipping.
- "From" — for compatible cartridges, where several brands with very different prices and quality sit side by side.
It is explicitly not "the lowest price in the U.S.". It is the lowest price among the stores we follow — 6 core stores plus specialists and marketplaces — on the date shown. Every comparison lists which stores had a checked price.
Platform, seller and fulfiller
On Walmart, Best Buy Marketplace, Newegg and Amazon, the platform is often not the seller. We record three things separately: the platform (where you click), the seller ("sold by") and, when shown, who ships it. A third-party offer on Walmart is never presented as "sold by Walmart", and a compatible sold by a marketplace seller is never presented as an Original HP product. Marketplace listings that say "sold without manufacturer warranty" are flagged in the table.
Why prices change
Toner prices move faster than most people expect: temporary promotions and bundle discounts, stock levels, different sellers on the same platform, and the gap between list price and street price. Differences of tens of dollars between two stores on the same day are normal. Always check the price at the store before ordering — the store decides what you finally pay.
Cost per page
- Cost per page (one color) = cartridge price ÷ stated yield.
- Cost per color page = the sum of the cost per page of black, cyan, yellow and magenta (a color laser also uses black on every color page).
- Yearly cost = cost per black page × black pages + cost per color page × color pages.
- Cartridges needed are always rounded up to whole cartridges — you cannot buy half of one.
The calculators prefill the lowest checked price, but you can overwrite any amount with the price you see. All results are estimates.
Page yield (ISO)
HP states the page yield of the whole HP 218 series — black included — under ISO/IEC 19798 with continuous printing. We use HP's figure as published. It is a standardized manufacturer figure, not a forecast: actual yield varies with content, coverage, settings and use. Where relevant we suggest a margin.
Yields of the cartridges in a set are never added together: a set of four does not print "4 × the yield", because each color is used at its own pace and black usually runs out first. Black and color yields are always shown separately.
Compatible yields and chip status
For compatible and remanufactured cartridges an independent ISO measurement usually does not exist. We use the yield the maker or seller states, always say whose claim it is, and cost each product with its own stated yield — never with the yield of the HP cartridge it replaces. If a seller states no number, or contradicts itself, we show no cost per page for it.
We record the chip status from the listing text in four states — Chip included, Move your old HP chip over, No chip, Chip not stated — and never promote "not stated" to "included".
How featured compatible picks are chosen
A compatible product can only be a featured pick when all of this holds (the code checks it):
- an exact product link, and a checked price no older than 7 days (3 days on the homepage);
- not out of stock; on a marketplace, the seller is known;
- a stated return or warranty route;
- no conflicting product data (a listing that contradicts itself is never featured);
- a seller rating, if shown on a 10-point scale, of at least 8; a product rating below 3.5/5 with at least 3 reviews excludes it.
Among eligible products the picks are purely measurable: lowest purchase price, lowest stated cost per page, strongest marketplace rating evidence and most reviewed. We name no "best" brand and publish no stars, reviews or test scores we did not collect ourselves.
Affiliate commission does not decide the order
Some retailer links on 218toner.com are affiliate links. If you buy through one, we may earn a commission. The price you pay does not change, and commission never decides which offers we show or how we rank them. In practice, our separation of money and content means:
- Inclusion and earning are separate fields. Each store has one flag for "belongs in the comparison" and another for "has an affiliate program". The code that builds the tables reads only the first.
- Stores with a checked price are ranked by price only — the ranking never receives a commission rate as input. On an equal price the most recent check wins, then editorial order.
- The price card at the top of a toner page shows the cheapest checked price, even when that store earns us less or nothing. We never call it "best"; the label says exactly what the number is lowest of.
- Affiliate links carry
rel="sponsored"and a "Paid link" label. An ordinary link does not — not even "to be safe", because then it would mean nothing.
Our own tests
We have not tested any cartridge ourselves. A future test would record a compatible cartridge in a specific printer model with the firmware version, recognition (immediately / after a restart / failed), toner-level reporting, pages printed and quality notes. We will publish results only once a test has actually been run, with the method.
Corrections
We correct factual errors as quickly as possible and update the check date. Spotted a price that is wrong? Report it via contact — it is the fastest way for us to find an outdated row.
Sources we use structurally (6)
-
HP's own U.S. product pages for all eight cartridges (W2180A–W2183A, W2180X–W2183X): product number, GTIN/UPC, price and stock from the pages' structured data. The W2180A page also lists the compatible printers.
Checked: September 23, 2026
- Manufacturer · support HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP 2300, 3300 Printers — Replace a toner cartridge (part numbers per country/region) — HP Support (U.S.)
Covers the HP Color LaserJet Pro 3201–3204, 3288 and MFP 3301–3304, 3388. HP's table: HP 218A/218X (W2180–W2183) for North America, Australia and New Zealand; HP 219A/219X for the UK, Ireland and Europe only; HP 222A/222X for Latin America, ISE, Greater Asia, India and China only. "The product is regionalized." Also gives HP's replacement steps.
Checked: September 24, 2026
- Standard ISO/IEC 19798 — Method for the determination of toner cartridge yield for colour printers — International Organization for Standardization
The test method behind HP's stated yields for the whole HP 218 series, black included (continuous printing of a standard test suite).
Checked: August 28, 2026
-
Dynamic security printers are intended to work only with cartridges that have new or reused HP chips or circuitry; firmware updates can block cartridges with non-HP chips, "including cartridges that work today". Instant Ink and HP ePrint require automatic firmware updates. Using a non-HP cartridge does not void the HP Limited Warranty, but damage caused by it is not covered.
Checked: September 24, 2026
-
Affiliate relationships must be disclosed clearly and conspicuously, as close as possible to the recommendation.
Checked: September 24, 2026
-
Our own rules: cost per page = checked price ÷ the yield stated for THAT product (HP's ISO figure for originals, the seller's own figure for compatibles). Prices are before sales tax. Estimates are labeled as such.
Checked: September 24, 2026
Facts from HP, retailers and standards bodies are labeled as such. Calculations (cost per page, yearly cost) are estimates by 218toner.com. Last reconciled on .